You are here
Home > Others > Panchol Madol wins 2020 Zabasajja Memorial Open Chess Championship

Panchol Madol wins 2020 Zabasajja Memorial Open Chess Championship

Pancho James Madol, a Sudanese contender finally won silverware after emerging victorious in the just concluded 2020 Zabasajja Memorial Open Chess Championship.

The three day event that started on Friday last week climaxed on the evening of Sunday 2nd February at Nob View Hotel in Ntinda.

To win the third edition of the Zabasajja Memorial Open Chess Championship, Panchol Madol beat WCM Ampaire Shakira, Wanjiru Lucy, WFM Christine Namaganda, Okas Walter, and Kamoga Rajab respectively.

Panchol James Madol (R) with Olympian Goretti Angolikin (L)

The Sudanese chess player Panchol however had two tie breaks with Egesa Emmanuel and Matovu Abel scoring six points after the seven rounds.

Panchol tied up with Egesa Emmanuel and Kawuma Patrick and won on a Bette tie break.

Olympian Goretti Angolikin rose to the occasion winning with 4.5 points out of possible 7 in the ladies’ catergory.

She was followed by WCM Ampaire Shakira and WFM Christine Namaganda at 4.5 and 4 points respectively.

Namaganda (L) scored 4 to tie with four in the Ladies category

The event that was organized in loving memory of legendary and 8-time record winning champion Willy Zabasajja attracted over 100 participants from four countries.

Top finishers

U8 Boys

Kizito Jayden Mubiru – 3 pts
Mugambe Kiwanuka – 2 pts
Kirabo Chessman Daniel – 2 pts

U8 Girls

Manasvi Nuli – 2pts
Nambirige Swabura – 2 pts
Tenywa Favor – 1 point

U10 Boys

Ssuubi Kiwanuka – 3 pts
Muhumuza Elijah – 2 pts
Kwaza Eric Oryem – 2 pts

U12 Girls

Nakasi Kiwanuka – 3 pts
Nankya Janelle Mubiru – 2 pts
Asuimire Pedra – 1 point

U12 Boys

Atubet William – 3 pts
Ajiri Nygaard – 3 pts
Kirabo Gabriel Bodman – 3 pts

U14 Girls

Namiiro Janice Mubiru – 3.5 pts

U14 Boys

Ajiri Benjamin Netanyahu – 3.5 pts
Pido Edwin – 3.5 pts

Age group S50

Kikonyogo John – 5 pts
Kaamu Joseph – 4.5 pts

Best Male

Panchol James Madol – 6 pts
Egesa Emmanuel – 6 pts
Patrick Kawuma – 6 pts

Best Female

WFM Angolikin Gorreti – 4.5 pts
WCM Ampire Shakira – 4.5 pts
WFM Christine Namaganda – 4 pts

One thought on “Panchol Madol wins 2020 Zabasajja Memorial Open Chess Championship

Leave a Reply