You are here
Home > Women > Elite League > Tracy Jones inspires Kawempe Moslems to fourth consecutive title

Tracy Jones inspires Kawempe Moslems to fourth consecutive title

Kawempe Moslems 1-0 Olila Women

Tracy Jones Akiror’s lone strike was all that the reigning champions Kawempe Moslems needed to scoop a fourth consecutive women elite league title at the Star Times stadium on Saturday evening.

Juliet Nalukenge could have widened a goal margin for Kawempe Moslems but his efforts were denied by the goal post twice in the first half of the game.

Half an hour, Tracy Jones Akiror from outside the 18-yard box crossed the line with a scorcher that found Olila’s custodian off the mark making it 1-0 for the first session.

From recess, Olila women piled more pressure on the opponents but we’re denied by the outstanding back line of Kawempe Moslems.

At the end of the full 90 minutes, Kawempe were able to maintain a 1-0 lead clinching champions of the Fufa women elite league season 2017-2018.

The win inspired Kawempe Moslems to a fourth consecutive women title after claiming champions for the previous three consecutive seasons.

” I’m happy that I won this trophy though my team seemed to be with average players since the departure of senior players on the team. But they had a strong belief”

” My team will mature the coming season and the rest of the team’s should just stay alert and must watch out”. Said Kawempe Moslems coach Ayub Khalifa.

Earlier on in the afternoon, Gafford Ladies came third after defeating Kampala Queens 1-0 thanks to a Monica Namwase second half lone strike.


MVP (Most Valuable player) : Tracy Jones Akiror (Kawempe Muslim)

Top scorer : Maureen Kinavudori (UCU Lady Cardinals)

Golden glove : Juliet Adeke (Kawempe Muslim)

Fair Play award : Ajax Queens

Golden boot:
Maureen Kinavudori (UCU) 10 goals.

Winners : Kawempe Muslim (12m)

Runners up : Olila Women (7m)

3rd place : Gafford Ladies (5m)

4th place : Kampala Queens (2m

Leave a Reply